APCC president

Shri Ripun Bora

President , Assam Pradesh Congress Committee
A brief Biography
1. Name : Sri Ripun Bora
2. Date of Birth : 01-10-1955
3. Education Qualification : M.A., LLB
4. Present Address : House No. – 3, Amarnath Path, Bhagaduttapur, Beltola, GHY-28.
5. Permanent Address : Ward No. – 5, Purupbari, Gohpur Town, P.O. & P.S. – Gohpur, Dist. – Sonitpur, Assam.
6. Student Career : a. General Secretary of Cotton College Student’s Union for the period 1975 to 1976.
b. Assistant General Secretary of All Assam Student’s Union (AASU) for the period 1975 to 1976.
c. General Secretary, Assam State of NSUI for the Period 1977 to 1978.

d. President, Assam State NSUI for the period 1978 to 1980.
7. Service Career : a. Lecturer of Economics in Chaiduar College, Gohpur during 1979 to1984.
b. Assam Civil Service Officer from 1984 to 1996.
c. OSD in Assam Bhawan, Delhi and OSD to Chief Minister, Assam at Delhi from 1991-1995.
d. SDO(C) in Biswanath Chariali Sub Division during 1995 to1996.
8. Political Career : a. Contested Assam Assembly Election as INC Candidate from 78 Gohpur LAC in 1996 and lost at a narrow margin of 711 votes.
b. Secretary of Assam Pradesh Congress Committee from 1996-1997.
c. Political Secretary to the President, APCC in 1997.
d. Elected Member of APCC and Executive Member of APCC from 1997 to 2001.
e. Spokesperson of APCC from 1998 to 2002. Page 2
f. Convenor of APCC Election Manifesto Committee for Parliamentary Election of 1998, 1999, 2004 and Assam Assembly Election for 2001 and 2006.
g. Convenor of APCC Charge Sheet Committee constituted to prepare the Charge Sheet against AGP Government from 1996 to 2001.
h. Editor of the Souvenir published on the occasion of North East States Block Congress Presidents Conference held at Guwahati in 2000.
i. Convenor of the Media Management & Co-ordination Body formed in connection with Congress Chief Minister’s Meet held at Guwahati on 12th and 13th April, 2002.
j. MLA from 78 Gohpur LAC for the period 2001- 2006 and 2006-2011.
k. Minister of State (Independent) Panchayat and Rural Development and Elementary Education, Government of Assam since 2002 to 2006.
l. Minister of Education (Cabinet), Assam from 2006 to 2008.
m. Worked as Assembly Election Observer of AICC in Assembly Election of Meghalaya in 2003.
n. Worked as Assembly Election observer of AICC in Assembly Election of Arunachal Pradesh in 2004.
o. Convenor of manifesto committee of Panchayat Election 2012, Guwahati Municipal Corporation Election 2013, Lok-Shabha Election 2014.
p. Chairman of facts finding Committee on the poor performance of Congress party in Mising Autonomous Council (MAC) Election 2013.
q. Worked as AICC observer for Assembly Election of Delhi 2013.
r. Vice President Assam Pradesh Congress Committee 2014 – 2016
s. Elected Member of Parliament (Rajya Sabha) in 2016
9. Present Post : a. President, Assam Pradesh Congress Committee & MP (Rajya Sabha) in the Party